Service recognised with admissions and promotions to Order of St John

  • 41 members of St John WA were recognised in the 2023 Admissions and Promotions to the Order of St John
  • Individuals who have contributed over and above what is normally expected are nominated for admission to the Order
  • Admission or promotion to the Order highest honour within the organisation

Forty-one members of the St John WA community have been recognised in the Order of St John.

The Order of St John is a global royal order of chivalry, and charity, established under the Authority of Queen Victoria during 1888. Admission or promotion to the Order of St John is the highest honour within St John’s awards and recognition system that a volunteer or employee can be awarded.

Individuals who have contributed over and above their duty to the organisation or the community are nominated for admission to the Order by a current St John WA member or by a representative of the Order.

The nomination is reviewed by members of the Order at regional and state levels, before being sent to Australian Priory Honours and Awards Committee in Canberra.

Finally, successful applications are sent to the United Kingdom for ratification by The Order of St John Grand Council and the organisation’s Sovereign Head, King Charles III.

A membership to the Order of St John is a recognised honour under the Australian Honours System and presents itself as an excellent opportunity to pay tribute to the extraordinary members of the St John WA community, past, present and future.

Individuals join the Order as Members, although some may join at a higher rank, and can progress to become an Officer or a Commander – the highest honour in the Order.

From St John WA, 34 new Members were admitted to the Order, one person was admitted as an Officer and five people were promoted to the grade of Officer. One person was promoted to Commander.
They will be formally welcomed or promoted at a traditional ceremony, known as an Investiture, in 2024.

Promotion to Commander
Eleanor Hill CStJ – Laverton

Admission as Officer
South West
Thomas Drake-Brockman – Harvey

Promotion to Officer
South West
Ian Digweed – Collie

Brian Gallop – Esperance

Great Southern
Kathleen Broadbent – Walpole

Barbara Groves – Katanning

Lynda Tyler – Mt Barker

Admission as Member

Mid West
Deb Williams – Kalbarri

North West
Shannan Bradley – Karratha
Shane Gray – Kununurra
Kelly Harverson – Port Hedland

Hamish Nicholls – Critical Care Metro Ops

State Office
Carole Donaldson – Clinical Education
Kelly Guest – Clinical Services
Tracie Ironside – People & Culture
Michelle Lamont – Heritage & Recognition

South West
Mavis Marshall – Dunsborough

Bevan Bailye – Esperance
Janine Doney – Salmon Gums
Rachael Doney – Salmon Gums
Ross Doney – Salmon Gums
Abbey Hay – Kalgoorlie
Shane Munro – Coolgardie

Great Southern
Brenda Brown – Cranbrook
Celia Campbell – Gnowangerup
Hayley Clarke – Kojonup
Lance Cooper – Kent
Heidi Fischer – Denmark
Beth Trezona -Tambellup

Event Health Services
Chelsea Lazar – Morley EHS
Keita Morimoto – Wanneroo EHS/Y&C
Erin Nugent – Wanneroo EHS

Jay Hammond – Wyalkatchem
Caryn Hargrave – Wundowie
Paul Harrington – Toodyay
Victoria Jones – Hyden/Kondinin
Belinda Marsh – Wundowie
Shirley Marsh – Darkan
Maxi McDonald – Country Ambulance
Michael Morgan – Toodyay
Michaela Stone – Quairading

Commandery commendations

Karina Bray – Esperance
Robert Dunnermuth – Condingup
Edwin Gilchrist – Esperance
John Honey – Esperance
Melanie Maguire – Esperance
Kate Marinko – Wickham Roebourne
Lisa Parker – Esperance
Jono Mbangani – Esperance

Cassie McIntyre – Morley EHS
Zelmari Prinsloo – Esperance
Veronika Reck – Esperance
Kirsty Robertson – Esperance
Kristy Roper – Esperance
Karina Ruddenklau – Congdinup
Thomas Scutt – Carnarvon
Chrysa Tan – Esperance

Nominate someone for admission or promotion in the Order of St John 

Do you know someone deserving of admission or promotion to the Order of St John? Download the nomination forms below. If you have questions or would like assistance, contact (08) 9334 1416 or awardsandrecognition@stjohnwa.com.au

Share this:

Follow us on Social Media: